What great news!

Burgess park has been awarded a £2 million prize by the Mayor of London. This added to the £4 million of match funding from the council and New Deal for Communities mean a whole lot of cash for improvements.

I have a special place in my heart for Burgess Park. I grew up on Cobourg Road just opposite the lake until I was 18, so I spent my childhood playing in and around the park. And I moved back to the area about 6 years ago, who’d have thought all these years later I’d be jogging along the old Surrey Canal around the lake and down to Camberwell Road.

I always see the council garden vans and workmen out and about in the park, never the less it’s very run down. Lets hope we can see the benefits of this funding soon.

Click here to see what Southwark Council says about the prize.

