dsc02410

dsc02411

dsc024131

My mum’s been making this banana loaf for as long as i can remember. I recently went up to my sisters only to find out the she (like me) has been making it every couple of weeks for the past few months. How funny that we’ve both suddenly been making it a lot. I think its because we miss our mum… And it’s become even more special since she gave me her old Kenwood Chef mixer.

1 1/4 cups of sugar

1/2 cup of butter or marg

2 eggs

Pinch of salt

1/2 cup of water & milk

3 ripe bananas

2 cups of self raising flour

1/2 tsp of baking powder

3/4 tsp of bicarbonate of soda

Cream butter and sugar. Beat in eggs one at a time. Add mashed bananas. Sift in flour, baking pwder and salt. Disolve bicarbonate of soda in milk and water and add to mixture. Pour into a greased baking tin and cook for approx 45 mins at 180 / Gas mark 5

My sister also told me that to make it a little more healthy for her son she substitutes the sugar for dark un-refined sugar and the white self raising flour for wholemeal self raising flour. Genius!

