Yesterday was my birthday, and I had such a lovely day!

I got taken to lunch at The Herne Tavern on Peckham Rye. It’s one of my favourite pubs around here by far. The food is always good and going mid week meant it was very quiet. We went on a Sunday a few weeks back and it was bedlam! The childrens play area was totally over run! Anyway over the next few days they have a real ale beer festival, they’ve built a bar in the garden and there are lots of activities planned. Pop in and have a look.

After that I went into town to meet a friend for a surprise birthday treat… a visit to the Picasso exhibition at the National Gallery. I’ve seen so many of his paintings over the years in books or on TV but never in one show. It was fascinating to see how his work evolved over the years. Strangely my favourite painting was called ‘large bather’. It looks quite crude in the picture below but in the flesh (no pun intended!) it’s beautiful.

large bather

My day ended with dinner at Ceconni’s with my husband. Now this is how a ALL restaurants should be. Gorgeous interiors, fabulous food and attentive staff.

Picture 1

Why can’t every day be my birthday?

